Research Excellence Awards

Informed by leading edge research from a broad range of disciplinary perspectives, Massey researchers have helped to positively shape lives and communities here in New Zealand and around the world.

The recipients of these awards epitomise our values of creativity, innovation and connectedness.

There are four award categories in the Research Excellence Awards section:

  • Individual Research Supervisor
  • Individual Research
  • Early Career Medal
  • Team Research

Award for Individual Research Supervisor Medal

Professor Kevin Stafford - Institute of Vet, Animal and Biomedical Sciences  Professor Kevin Stafford

This award recognises Professor Stafford's exceptional record of scholarly and practical support for, and successful supervision of, numerous postgraduate students over at least two decades. He joined Massey in 1990 as a lecturer in sheep and beef medicine and production and has been a professor since 2003.

Professor Stafford has become an internationally recognised expert on animal behaviour and welfare. In the past 26 years, he has supervised or contributed to the supervision of 23 PhD candidates and more than 44 master’s, postgraduate diploma and honours students.

He has been the institute director of postgraduate studies and dean of postgraduate studies and research, teaming students up with suitable supervisors and often stepping in to provide support. At the same time he has maintained a very large undergraduate teaching workload.

View Professor Stafford's profile


Award for Individual Research Medal

Professor Marlena Kruger Professor Marlena Kruger

Massey Institute of Food Science and Technology

Health researcher Professor Marlena Kruger has contributed to the development and leadership of a bone health research team and leads a large programme of research investigating the role of various nutrients, foods, bioactives and small molecules in the protection and maintenance of bone and joint health.

Her research advances knowledge on bone function and structure, introducing information of the effects of lifestyle, nutrition, environment and ethnicity on bone mass and hormone status to support bone health.

View Professor Kruger's profile


Professor Tony Parker Professor Tony Parker

College of Creative Arts (CoCa) Research Office

Industrial designer Professor Tony Parker is New Zealand’s leading university based industrial designer. A top-ranked researcher whose expertise within the university context has been recognised in New Zealand and internationally. His industrial design career has resulted in more than 70 commercialised, mass-produced, creative outputs.

Professor Parker’s substantial contribution to New Zealand design, including his design work for Gallagher, has seen him win multiple awards and invitation to exhibit at international events.

View Professor Parker's Profile


Early Career Medal Award

Dr David Aguirre

Dr David Aguirre

Senior Lecturer in Marine Ecology - Institute of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Dr David Aguirre has been a lecturer in marine ecology at the College of Science in Auckland since 2014.

He received his PhD from the University of Queensland in 2012 and completed a two-year post-doctoral fellowship there. His research centres on quantifying genetic and environmental influences on phenotypes.

In a research career spanning barely four years, he has been the recipient of a postdoctoral fellowship from the Rutherford Foundation Trust in 2013, a Marsden Fast-Start grant from the Royal Society in 2014 and a Ministry

of Business, Innovation and Employment Unlocking Curious Minds grant last year.

View Dr Aguirre's profile

Dr Jodie Hunter

Dr Jodie Hunter

Senior lecturer - Institute of Education

Dr Jodie Hunter, from the College

Humanities and Social Sciences is a senior lecturer based in Auckland.

She completed her Master of Education at Massey while working as a primary school teacher, then worked as a research fellow and lecturer at Plymouth University, England, where she completed her PhD, before joining Massey in 2012.

Dr Hunter specialises in mathematics education, specifically innovative teaching and effective pedagogy and teacher development and learning.

View Dr Hunter's profile

Shannon Te Ao

Shannon Te Ao

Lecturer - Whiti o Rehua School of Art

Shannon Te Ao, from Ngäti Tuwharetoa, is a lecturer at the College of Creative Arts (CoCA) in Wellington.

Working predominantly within performance and video-based practices, Mr Te Ao’s recent work has seen him develop a body of work of international significance that has been exhibited extensively nationally and internationally.

In 2014, he was New Zealand’s sole representative at the 19th Biennale of Sydney. In 2015 he completed a Master of Fine Arts degree, graduating with first-class honours and last year he was awarded the Walters Prize, arguably New Zealand’s most prestigious contemporary art prize.

This year he will present new projects at the

Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetu, at Artspace Auckland and at the Taipei Centre for Contemporary Art in Taiwan.

View Shannon's profile


Award for Research Team Medal

Animal Welfare Science and Bioethics Centre Animal Welfare Science and Bioethics TeamL-R: Dr Ngaio Beausoleil, Professor Craig Johnson, Professor David Mellor, Professor Kevin Stafford and Neil Ward

In 2007 the World Organisation for Animal Health adopted the Centre as its major collaborating centre in the animal welfare arena - a first for the southern hemisphere. Additional indicators of the huge success of this group include more than $7 million in research funding, more than 90 postgraduate student completions and expert advice offered to more than 30 government advisory committees and authorities.

Institute head, Professor Paul Kenyon says the group has been hugely successful over a prolonged period with a significant international reputation across a wide range of activities.

"Few groups at Massey University can match the breadth and depth of their research outputs and their more than 600 national and international presentations," Professor Kenyon says.

Animal Welfare Science and Bioethics Centre team members

Previous winners

Individual Research Supervisor Award

Recipients of the Individual Research Supervisor Award

2015 | Professors Regina Scheyvens, Martin Young and Nicolas Lopez-Villalobos

2014 | Professor Cord Heuer

2013 | Professor Steve Morris

2012 | Professor John O'Neill

2011 | Professor Emeritus Mike McManus

2010 | Professor Emeritus Ian Evans

2009 | Professor Hugh Blair

Individual Research Award

Recipients of the Individual Research Award

2015 | Professor Glyn Harper

2014 | Distinguished Professor Paul Rainey

2013 | Distinguished Professor Sally Morgan

2012 | Professor Nigel French

2011 | Distinguished Professor Paul Moughan

2010 | Professor Geoff Jameson

2009 | Distinguished Professors Anne Noble and Peter Schwerdtfeger

Early Career Research Award

Recipients of the Early Career Research Award

2015 | David Hayman, Tanya Marriott and Natasha Tassell-Matamua

2014 | Lee Stoner, Philip Steer, Jane Allison and Jason Wargent

2013 | Mary Breheny

2012 | Karen Stockin, Sarah-Jane Paine and Max Schleser

2011 | Lara Shepherd

2010 | Murray Cox and Wayne Patrick

2009 | Aiqian Ye, Leigh Signal and Matthias Lein

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey