Teaching Excellence Awards

The Massey Teaching Excellence Award recognises the sustained commitment to teaching and learning. The recipients strive to enhance learning through a student-centred, enquiry based approach.

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence

Associate Professor Margaret Brunton Professor Margaret Brunton

Associate Professor Margaret Brunton capped off a stellar year by receiving a Sustained Excellence in Tertiary Teaching Award at a ceremony at Parliament in August.

Dr Brunton was a recipient of the 2016 Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence and also the Massey Business School Reichard Buchanan Teaching Excellence Award.

The public relations and communication lecturer, who has taught at Massey's Auckland campus for 12 years, says she was honoured to win the award.

Dr Brunton says she aims to equip students to successfully navigate a challenging, changing and complex world. "One of my greatest joys as a teacher is to see the transformation between the level of achievement in the first and final assessments.

"Although, at times some students feel overwhelmed by standards they perceive as unattainable, retrospectively they also comment on how they appreciate the challenges of attaining a high standard in their work."

View Professor Brunton's profile


Teaching Support Award

Martin McMorrow Martin McMorrow

Martin McMorrow, a National Centre for Teaching and Learning consultant, is currently completing his PhD which focuses on supporting writing development.

Mr McMorrow joined Massey in 2005, after 20 years working as a teacher and teacher trainer for Educational Services Overseas. He has drawn on this experience in providing support for international students, through face-to-face consultations and workshops and using digital resources, online presentations and podcasts. He has been praised for his “fellow learner” approach, which creates a personalised and stimulating learning environment.

He has worked in an increasingly collaborative way with content specialists to develop integrated support in various disciplines. His overall goal is to provide relevant and engaging support for students that complements the learning activities provided by lecturers and helps them transition successfully into and through their tertiary studies.

View Mr McMorrow's profile


Previous winners

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence

Recipients of the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence

2015 | Dr Trisia Farrelly, Associate Professor Ian Fuller and Dr Alison Sewell

2014 | Dr Terry Macpherson, Helen Simmons, Paul Stock. Spanish language programme: Dr Leonel Alvarado, Dr Celina Bortolotto, Raquel Direnzo, Francisco Gonzalez and Cynthia Landa

2013 | Dr Jing Chi, Dr Thom Conroy, Associate Professor John Holland, Dr Damian Ruth

2012 | Dr Elizabeth Gray, Dr Zoe Jordens, Liz Norman and Amanda Yates

2011 | Dr Gina Salapata, Dr Nigel Parsons, Associate Professor Mark Henrickson, Dr Brennon Wood, Professor Tony Signal and Neil Ward

2010 | Dr Angie Farrow, Dr Bevan Catley, Dr Craig Pritchard, Dr Eva Heinrich, Dr Neville Honey and Lois Wilkinson

Teaching Support Award

Recipients of the Teaching Support Award

2014 | Andrew Jamieson

2013 | Scott Symonds

Excellent Practice Award

Recipients of the Excellence Practice Award

2012 | Dr Ian Fuller, Antony Pelosi, Dr Damian Ruth and Dr Gabriele Schmidt-Adam

National Award for Tertiary Teaching Excellence

Recipients of the National Award for Tertiary Teaching Excellence

2013 | Dr Jing Chi

2012 | Dr Zoe Jordens and Liz Norman

2010 | Dr Angie Farrow

2009 | Dr Heather Kavan, Norman Meehan, Dr Adam Claasen and Sam Richardson

2008 | Dr Lisa Emerson and Dr Hamish Anderson

2007 | Dr Tracy Riley and Dr Bryan Walpert

2006 | Dr Juliana Mansvelt and Dr Mark Brown

2005 | Dr Regina Scheyvens

2004 | Dr Richard Shaw

2003 | Dr Terry Steward

2002 | Dr Tony Wright

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey