Justices of the Peace

Justices of the Peace carry out an ever-increasing multitude of functions in the administration of documentation and justice in New Zealand. These functions include:

Ministerial duties:

  • Witnessing signatures
  • Certifying documents
  • The taking of declarations, affidavits or affirmations
  • The witnessing of Land Transfer and other documents.

Judicial duties:

  • Jurisdiction determined by statute, including minor offences and some traffic cases
  • Issue of remands and Bail
  • Hearing of undefended cases
  • Presiding over defended trials
  • Preliminary hearing of indictable offences
  • The receiving of informations and complaints and the issue of summonses
  • The issue of Search Warrants
  • The issue of summonses to witnesses.

Although all Justices of the Peace perform most Ministerial duties, only some will carry out Judicial duties.

Justices of the Peace at Massey University

Massey University is fortunate to have several staff members appointed as Justices of the Peace to serve their local communities in Auckland, Palmerston North and Wellington. Please contact any of the following if ever you require the services of a Justice of the Peace. The courtesy of making an appointment at a convenient time is always appreciated.

Auckland Campus

  Phone Email Location
Rohini Subbian
Available Thursday afternoon only.
09 414 0800 extn 43459 R.Subbian@massey.ac.nz  
Mr Ricky Waters
Co-ordinating Chaplain
Available Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
09 414 0800 extn 43449 R.K.Waters@massey.ac.nz  

 

Manawatu Campus (Palmerston North)

  Phone Email Location
Vicki Beagley
Available 8am-12noon.
021 404549 V.M.Beagley@massey.ac.nz Room 3.38, Psychology Building.
Professor Murray Cox
Available by appointment (afternoons preferred).
06 951 7747 M.P.Cox@massey.ac.nz Science Tower D, level 5, Room 04 (or D5.04).
Karen Devantier
Available by appointment.
027 222 0864 or 06 951 6328 K.Devantier@massey.ac.nz Room 8.22 (adjacent to lift), 8th Floor, Social Science Tower.
Professor Surinder Saggar
Available by appointment: 12 noon to 1pm and 3.00pm on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.
06 356 9099 S.K.Saggar@massey.ac.nz Landcare Research, Manaaki Whenua Building, Riddet Rd, reception at Level 2.
Dianne Reilly
Available between 8.30am-9am and 4pm-4.30pm. Maximum of 5 pages.
06 951 7782 D.M.Reilly@massey.ac.nz Room 2.21 Registry foyer.
Associate Professor Nick Roskruge 06 951 7876 N.Roskruge@massey.ac.nz  

 

Wellington Campus

  Phone Email Location
Heike Ulrich 04 979 3518
021 423574
H.Ulrich@massey.ac.nz Block 1, Ground Floor

For more information...

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey